District and Southern Lakes Anthologies 2023

District and Southern Lakes Anthologies 2023
Posted on 01/26/2023
District and Southern Lakes Anthologies 2023

The Lake Geneva Anthology is an opportunity for all students in grades 3 – 8 to submit a piece of work in one of the following categories: Prose, Poetry, Art, Cartoon, Expository Writing, and Illustrated Writing for possible publication. Students were asked to relate their work to this year’s theme – One in a Million.

Entry submissions were first judged at the school level in December. Then all the entries were judged at the district level to determine the strongest pieces to submit for regional consideration. These entries were judged on clarity of message, creativity, quality, technical skill, and presentation.

The following students were selected to have their work published as part of this year's Lake Geneva Anthology: Ruby Kutschma (Grade 3 - Art), Colston Heaton (Grade 4 - Prose), Elsie Mecum (Grade 4 - Poetry), Rory Ryan (Grade 4 - Poetry), Eli Sanders (Grade 5 - Poetry), Midnita Ostrander (Grade 5 - Poetry), Kinlee Smith (Grade 5 - Poetry), Riley Elverman (Grade 6 - Poetry), Naomi Tost (Grade 6 - Poetry), Leighton Lenz and Josie Mandli (Grade 6 - Illustrated Writing), Averie Helgeland (Grade 6 - Illustrated Writing), Ava Humphrey and Tierney Lentz (Grade 7 - Illustrated Writing), Jacob Pokorny (Grade 7 - Poetry), Mary Snedeker (Grade 7 - Poetry), Dalay Onofre (Grade 7 - Poetry), Dorian Roemer (Grade 7 - Art), Dayanara Torres (Grade 8 - Art), Yajaira Narvaez (Grade 8 - Art), Savana Hamilton (Grade 8 - Art), Hope Reyna (Grade 8 - Art), Laina Kirsch (Grade 8 - Cartoon), Kirsten Sertzel (Grade 8 - Art), Karsyn Monroe (Grade 8 - Poetry), Maggie McKeown (Grade 8 - Poetry), Jay Carlson (Grade 8 - Prose), Whitney Turner (Grade 8 - Poetry), Avery Carstensen (Grade 8 - Poetry), and Brantley Noble (Grade 8 - poetry).

At the regional level, seventeen entries were selected to be published in the Southern Lakes Anthology which is a publication created by the Southern Lakes Advanced Learners Network. Those students are: Ruby Kutschma, Elsie Mecum, Kinlee Smith, Riley Elverman, Naomi Tost, Leighton Lenz and Josie Mandli, Averie Helgeland, Ava Humphrey and Tierney Lentz, Dalay Onofre, Dorian Roemer, Dayanara Torres, Savana Hamilton, Hope Reyna, Laina Kirsch, Kirsten Sertzel, Maggie McKeown, and Jay Carlson.

Congratulations to all of these students on this wonderful accomplishment!

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.